Groundbreaking top-level research into child and adolescent health: On 19 September 2018, the University of Basel and ETH Zurich co-founded the Botnar Research Centre for Child Health in Basel.

Health and wellbeing for children and adolescents.

The Botnar Research Centre for Child Health (BRCCH) has a clear vision: To establish itself in the next few years as the leading institution conducting use-inspired cutting-edge research that will improve the health and wellbeing of children and adolescents worldwide.

Combining expertise.

The BRCCH brings together top scientists and clinical researchers from a variety of disciplines in order to develop digital and next generation healthcare solutions for use in paediatrics. It combines the expertise of the University of Basel and ETH Zurich in systems biology, medicine and various areas of life sciences, engineering, economics, social sciences and information technology that are relevant to health.

With the results it produces, the BRCCH will help to prevent diseases, develop new treatment approaches, improve diagnoses and effectiveness forecasts, and make healthcare systems more affordable.

 

Strong partners.

The BRCCH operating institutions are the University of Basel and ETH Zurich, while other partner institutions belonging to the research centre network include the University Children’s Hospital of Basel (UKBB) and the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute in Basel. The BRCCH is funded by a CHF 100 million contribution from Fondation Botnar in Basel which is spread over a 10-year period.

Fondation Botnar is committed to improving the health and wellbeing of children and adolescents in fast-growing cities across the world. It invests in solutions that use and promote artificial intelligence and digital innovations.

 

Prof. Dr. Andrea Schenker-Wicki

Rector, University of Basel

«At the BRCCH, a combination of basic research and clinical research will help to generate outstanding results that can be translated into practical solutions. We want to have an impact on the lives of children and adolescents.»

Prof. Dr. Lino Guzzella

President, ETH Zurich

«At the BRCCH, we bring together persons conducting basic research in biomedicine, life sciences and information technology in order to develop groundbreaking digital solutions to improve the health of children and adolescents.»

Dr. Peter Lenz

President of the Board, Fondation Botnar

«Children and adolescents are a key part of our society. We want to give them tools to shape their lives successfully and to actively contribute to positive development. The BRCCH will provide many new solutions to help achieve this.»

Prof. Dr. Torsten Schwede

Vice Rector for Research, University of Basel

«We have wide-ranging experience in clinical paediatric research – and we will bring this into the BRCCH. We also believe that the transdisciplinary approach of the research centre is important.»

Prof. Dr. Detlef Günter

Vice Rector for Research, ETH Zurich

«As institutions, ETH Zurich and the University of Basel know each other and are already collaborating in various different research fields. We are looking forward to exploring scientific uncharted territory together in the BRCCH.»

Dr. Aline Cossy-Gantner

Chief Learning Officer, Fondation Botnar

«The University of Basel and ETH Zurich are outstanding operating institutions that will enable the BRCCH to develop new digital solutions for the health and wellbeing of children.»

Transdisciplinary research.

At the BRCCH, basic researchers, clinical researchers and other scientists will collaborate closely in the fields of implementation research, health systems, health economics, educational science, ethics and law. The focus in on countries with limited resources, but with the potential to implement solutions worldwide. This approach facilitates research and development with a direct benefit for the health of children and adolescents.

Media

For enquiries, press appointments and general information please contact 
media@brcch.org. We will be happy to help you.


Downloads


Contact

BRCCH
c/o Universitätskinderspital beider Basel UKBB
Ms Karine Bell Hugentobler
Spitalstrasse 33 4056 Basel, Switzerland
contact@brcch.org

Wegweisende Spitzenforschung für Kinder und Jugendliche: Am 19. September 2018 haben die Universität Basel und die ETH Zürich gemeinsam das Botnar Research Centre for Child Health in Basel gegründet.

Gesundheit und Lebensqualität für Kinder und Jugendliche.

Das Botnar Research Center for Child Health (BRCCH) hat eine klare Vision: Es will sich in den nächsten Jahren zur führenden Institution in der anwendungsorientierten Spitzenforschung für die Förderung von Gesundheit und Lebens­qualität von Kindern und Jugendlichen weltweit entwickeln.

Kompetenzen bündeln.

Das BRCCH bringt hervorragende Wissenschaft und klinische Forschung aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten zusammen, um neue Methoden und digitale Instrumente für den Einsatz in der Pädiatrie zu entwickeln. Es bündelt die Kompetenzen der Universität Basel und der ETH Zürich in Systembiologie und Medizin sowie in gesundheitsrelevanten Feldern von Life Sciences, Ingenieurwissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften, Ökonomie und Informationstechnologie.

Mit seinen Resultaten trägt das BRCCH dazu bei, Krankheiten vorzubeugen, neue Behandlungsansätze zu entwickeln, Diagnosen und Wirkungsprognosen zu verbessern und finanzielle tragbare Lösungen zu fördern.

 

Starke Partner.

Das BRCCH wird von der Universität Basel und der ETH Zürich getragen. Zum Netzwerk des Forschungszentrums gehören zudem Partnerinstitute wie das Universitäts-Kinderspital beider Basel und das Schweizerische Tropen- und Public Health-Institut in Basel. Die Finanzierung des BRCCH erfolgt über einen Beitrag von Fondation Botnar in Basel von CHF 100 Mio., verteilt auf zehn Jahre.

Fondation Botnar setzt sich für die Verbesserung der Gesundheit und des Wohlbefindens von Kindern und Jugendlichen in stark wachsenden Städten weltweit ein. Sie investiert in Lösungen, die künstliche Intelligenz und digitale Innovationen einsetzen und fördern.

 

Prof. Dr. Andrea Schenker-Wicki

Rektorin der Universität Basel

«Grundlagenforschung und klinische Forschung werden im BRCCH gemeinsam dazu beitragen, dass Spitzenresultate entstehen, die sich auf praktische Lösungen übertragen lassen. Wir wollen Wirkung für Kinder und Jugendliche erzielen.»

Prof. Dr. Lino Guzzella

Präsident der ETH Zürich

«Im BRCCH bündeln wir Grundlagenforschung in Biomedizin, Life Sciences und Informationstechnologie, um wegweisende digitale Lösungen für die Gesundheit von Kindern und Jugendlichen zu entwickeln.»

Dr. Peter Lenz

Präsident Stiftungsrat Fondation Botnar

«Kinder und Jugendliche sind wichtige Pfeiler der Gesellschaft. Wir möchten sie befähigen, ihr Leben erfolgreich zu gestalten und aktiv zu einer positiven Entwicklung beizutragen. Das BRCCH wird dazu viele neue Lösungen beisteuern.»

Prof. Dr. Torsten Schwede

Vizerektor Forschung, Universität Basel

«Wir verfügen über breite Erfahrung in der klinischen pädiatrischen Forschung – diese werden wir ins BRCCH einbringen. Wichtig ist für uns zudem der transdisziplinäre Ansatz des Forschungszentrums.»

Prof. Dr. Detlef Günther

Vizerektor Forschung ETH Zürich

«Die ETH Zürich und die Universität Basel kennen sich und arbeiten bereits in verschiedenen Forschungsfeldern zusammen. Wir freuen uns darauf, im BRCCH gemeinsam wissenschaftliches Neuland erkunden zu können.»

Dr. Aline Cossy-Gantner

Chief Learning Officer Fondation Botnar

«Mit der Universität Basel und der ETH Zürich verfügt das BRCCH über hervorragende Träger zur Entwicklung neuer digitaler Lösungen für die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden von Kindern.»

Transdisziplinärer Forschungsansatz.

Im BRCCH arbeiten Grundlagenforschende, klinische Forschende sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in den Gebieten Implementationsforschung, Gesundheitssysteme, Gesundheitsökonomie, Pädagogik, Ethik und Recht eng zusammen. Im Fokus sind Länder mit beschränkten Ressourcen – die entwickelten Lösungen sollen aber überall einsetzbar sein. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht nachhaltige Forschung und Entwicklung mit einem direkten Nutzen für die Gesundheit von Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Medien

Für Anfragen, Pressetermine oder allgemeine Auskünfte wenden Sie sich an
media@brcch.org. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.


Downloads


Kontakt

BRCCH
c/o Universitätskinderspital beider Basel UKBB
Frau Karine Bell Hugentobler
Spitalstrasse 33 4056 Basel, Schweiz
contact@brcch.org